Launch of the Karadi Tales Audiobook, “A Quiet Courage”, Chennai

Standard

When I was living in Kuala Lumpur, my mother sent me a few books from India for my 21st birthday. One of them was “A Poem To Courage” by Manohar Devadoss – and I knew as soon as I saw the cover why she had chosen it. To my eye, and to hers, I resembled the woman in the line drawing on its cover. That woman was Mahema Devadoss.

The story of Mr. and Mrs. Devadoss is not unfamiliar to many in Chennai. Mr. Devadoss is a visually-impaired artist and author. Mrs. Devadoss became a quadriplegic following a car accident, but continued to draw and paint for several decades afterward.

It was truly meaningful for me to be asked to record the part of Mahema Devadoss in Karadi Tales’ new audiobook on the much-loved artist couple. “A Quiet Courage” will be launched in Chennai on August 7th.

mdd-1.jpg

2 responses »

  1. yes you resemble her a lot. I am relative of hers, was not aware that this book is in audio. great to know

Leave a Reply

