Walking Towards Ourselves: Indian Women Tell Their Stories

Standard

In “Karaikal Ammaiyar And Her Closet Of Adornments”, I write about personal style as a mode of self-expression, and self-concealment. I write about the pleasure of the perfect drape, the passion of red lipstick, and the heartache of living in a time when beauty and power cannot always co-exist. This essay is in the new anthology Walking Towards Ourselves: Indian Women Tell Their Stories, edited by Catriona Mitchell. The book is out now from HarperCollins in India, and Hardie Grant in Australia/the UK shortly.

karaikalammaiyaradornments

 

One response »

  1. Beautiful article. A little different from the Chennai I live in, but then, I am a married woman of 43, who works from home. So my sphere of operation does not overlap yours.
    Nevertheless, very well thought out and written. I have shared it with all my women friends.

Leave a Reply

